Posted by: Lisa | March 30, 2011

Darling, You Send Me

Last week, our studio was invited to display our designs at the Prince George Ballroom for an event for a small group of guests. I’m always happy to attend events around the city. It’s like discovering another part of my hometown that I’ve never seen before.

The venue turned out to be this gorgeous room in the heart of Madison Square North, with ornately decorated 20 ft columns painted detailed with elaborate Neo-Renaissance scroll work. (Don’t quote me on that, it’s been a while since art history class!)

The ceiling was most impressive, with it’s elaborate palette of deep teal, green and brown, complemented with bright orange, red and gold. I spent a good portion of the time looking up. (And with the harpist playing away in the corner, it provided for an out-of-the-ordinary, yet strangely soothing, environment.)

At the event, Chris and I had the pleasure of meeting a couple that was absolutely hilarious. And as soon as they asked me the percentage of post-consumer recycled material available, I knew we’d get along fabulously.

The fun thing about getting to know a couple is learning about their tastes and styles. As much as these two made us laugh, I could tell after a while that they were romantics at heart, just from the references they made, and the stamp they showed me. (I’m sure the other guests were wondering why we were laughing so much, and why this one guest was stamping stamps at my table as this was a catered food tasting event!)

Using the stamp as an anchor, we came up with this soft and romantic design for their save the dates. I love, love, LOVE how the textured stock works with the text, making it look like a well-traveled post card, the exact effect we were hoping for since they will be sending it to their guests from as far away as… Minnesota and Puerto Rico! This design has definitely turned out to be one of my all-time favorites!

Categories

